Registration Opens For South Pacific Tourism Exchange 2017

Share this:   

Online registrations are now open for South Pacific Tourism Exchange (SPTE) 2017 – the South Pacific’s biggest tourism trade event.

Now in its fourth year, SPTE brings together tourism operators from 16 Pacific Island Countries and international travel wholesalers and agencies under one roof for two days of scheduled business appointments.

This year’s event will take place at the International Convention Centre (ICC) in Sydney, Australia from May 18 to 20, immediately after the Australian Tourism Exchange, which is being held in the same venue.

Opened in December 2016, the AU$1.5 billion ICC is at the heart of the revitalised waterfront precinct in Darling Harbour, a fitting home for the Pacific’s premier tourism event.

SPTE is growing in both size and reputation – attracting more sellers and buyers year on year. This year, wholesale buyers from Australia, New Zealand, North America, China and Europe and United Kingdom are expected to attend.

The South Pacific Tourism Organisation (SPTO), which organises the annual event, is aiming up to 95 buyers and the same number of sellers this year, with ‘Early Bird Specials’ on offer for its private sector members.

For sellers, the standard registration fee is FJ$4,250 per exhibitor. SPTO Pacific Premium members pay FJ$4,000 while Pacific Jewel members pay $4,100.

For buyers, the standard registration fees are FJ$400 per person. SPTO Pacific Premium members pay $325 while Pacific Jewel members pay FJ$360.

To qualify for discounts, new members can join SPTO’s revamped Private Sector Membership Programme at by Thursday 2 March and enjoy a host of other benefits and services.

To register for SPTE 2017, visit or contact SPTE Secretariat on

Online registrations open Friday 3 February and close Thursday 2 March. Online appointment scheduling opens Wednesday 8 March.

Based in Suva, SPTO works to market and develop tourism in 16 Pacific Island Countries and Timor Leste.

About SPTO

Established in 1983 as the Tourism Council of the South Pacific, the South Pacific Tourism Organisation (SPTO) is the mandated organisation representing Tourism in the region. Its 18 Government members are American Samoa, Cook Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Fiji, French Polynesia, Kiribati, Nauru, Marshall Islands, New Caledonia, Niue, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Timor Leste, Tonga, Tuvalu, Vanuatu and the People’s Republic of China. In addition to government members, the South Pacific Tourism Organisation enlists a private sector membership base.


Get the latest Pacific Private Sector and Business news monthly in your inbox